drowning

“Don’t even bother apologizing at this point, there’s no use!”

“I wouldn’t apologize if there was a gun pointed to my head!”

 

I press on my ears. I’m pressing so hard that there’s white noise filling up my brain. If I fall asleep now, it will go away; they will go away. I just need to do what Vikram told me to do before he went away for college this September. I focus on my breathing: in, hold; out, hold; repeat. I just don’t understand why it’s still happening; Vikram said it would go away, but it’s been three months.

I try focusing on the breathing for a bit longer but the thing is, I get distracted by the whole step-by-step process of it that I forget to sleep. At least I don’t hear them. I don’t know if they’re still yelling or if it’s the white noise, but it’s nice. Very nice.

Breathe. In, hold; out, hold.

~

I wake up to the sun filling up my room. I like the morning because mom and dad sleep for a long time, meaning it’s quiet. My dad sleeps in the study now, we have a pull-out there and I really like it. It’s brown and leathery. He doesn’t seem to mind it, too, because whenever he drives me to school, he always says that at least he doesn’t have to hear mom snoring beside him. Mom says that he’s the one who snores and that she has lost more sleep in their twenty years of marriage than she did when she was in college.

I take out my journal from under my bed. Vikram told me to write everything I am feeling down in there, and I’m feeling kind of panicky right now. This doesn’t happen often in the morning since I like the morning, but Vikram told me to expect what is least expected, which means I’m okay. I do not know why he wants me to write stuff down, but it helps me because it lets me organize my thoughts.

I was always so fascinated whenever I’d go to my friend’s house. It’s quiet, but when it’s loud, it’s happy. Their loud means laughter and rowdiness which is kind of hard to understand.

I can hear my mom exiting their–her room and start descending the stairs into the kitchen. It’s a Saturday which means mom’s cooking. After a while of drawing elephants in my journal, I put it back under my bed in the far corner. Vikram said to hide it and not show my parents because it’s my journal which means it’s secret. I don’t mind that.

I leave my room and join my mother in the kitchen.

“Good morning honey, I made an omelet.”

I take the omelet and sit at the dining room table. I found out recently that my friend eats at the dining table with her sister and both of her parents every day for dinner. That’s so interesting because the last time I ate with both of my parents at the dining table was on my birthday and there were guests over.

My mom sits down beside me with her plate and starts eating with me.

“Honey, you know that I love you, right?”

“Yes,”

“I want you to know that I will always be there for you, okay?”

“Okay.”

~

Vikram came home today and he asked to see my journal and I let him because he told me that he is the only one who is allowed to see my journal besides me. We hang out for a while in my room and he told me all about college. He said that there are other people living with him in his dorm room and that he has connected with each one of them. I asked if it was hard being in college and he said it is, but that’s okay. I’m glad it’s okay.

As evening approached, mom and dad called us down to the living room to talk. I don’t know what they’d want to talk to us about, but I heard Vikram say about time under his breath. I do not know what he means by that.

They talked with us for a while, I saw that mom was crying and then Vikram started crying, dad wasn’t. Mom and dad kept repeating that they both love me over and over again. It was confusing because I already knew that, but they acted as if I didn’t. 

Divorce. Vikram told me that divorce means that two people who are married split because they are unhappy with each other. I can see why they will be doing this, but I didn’t know that that meant that they were not supposed to live with each other anymore. This is very complicated for me.

~

All they do is talk about each other after the divorce. It is constant. They’ve done it before but now it is so much more consistent. I don’t understand why, why they keep telling me this stuff about each other, I don’t want to know. 

~

My mom is driving me to therapy, I’ve been going for a while now because I get dreams. My recent dream was of an elephant. It was a girl’s birthday but I do not know who she was. For her birthday, she wanted a zoo in the ocean. The zoo-keepers brought all of the animals and placed them on floats. There were tigers and zebras and monkeys all balancing on floats. But, the zoo-keepers couldn’t keep the elephants on the float because they were too heavy. They would tie up the float with a lot of rope and everything would be fine; then the elephants would move and the ropes would snap. This process kept repeating. When the ropes snapped one more time, the elephants fell into the water. A baby elephant didn’t know how to swim and it kept drowning and drowning and its mom kept trying to pull it back up unsuccessfully. The baby elephant was crying and screaming. It sunk to the ocean floor, the crying went away. 

I woke up. 

I didn’t speak to anyone that day, all I could do was cry and cry and I couldn’t stop. 

My therapist asked me if I was taking the medication, and I was.

~

Vikram graduated from college today and we went to a restaurant to celebrate. Mom and dad were there; this was the first time that they were in the same room together since court. It was nice. It was nice until they started yelling, I don’t know why, but it was embarrassing and scary. I didn’t know what to do so I hid my face in my hands.

Vikram stood up and started yelling back at them, but I could only tell because his face was angry and his mouth was wide; I could only hear white noise. I don’t know what is happening because I’m not pressing my ears this time. I started sweating and the familiar feeling returns to my body. Panic attack, that’s what my therapist told me it was called. My throat starts feeling tight and I start shivering as sweat is going down my face. My peripherals started to black out and it slowly progressed to the middle of my eye. 

Darkness completely overcame me, and I let it.

It’s quiet, it’s nice. I like this type of atmosphere. I don’t think I ever want to leave, so I won’t.

 

 

 

 

 

featured image: https://gfycat.com/gifs/search/pink+elephants
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

6 thoughts on “drowning

  1. Dear Chirstiano:

    Without any exaggeration, this is one of the best pieces I have read in a long while. Your writing style rings true within this short work and complements the storytelling of your ideas perfectly. The most impressing thing to notice here is your perfection in maintaining a voice of innocence within the child narrator. Most of the time, we get caught up with trying to write the best possible story and use all the fancy words, but your word choice, syntax, and structure were absolutely spot on with the voice you were trying to convey. This is truly a masterpiece and I want to see what you will do with this kind of writing in the future.
    My only bit of advice would be for you to work on repetition. I thought your use of the symbols of white noise and covering one’s ears were brilliant, and so I wished they were used more than just the beginning and very end.
    Excellent job, Kristyna, and I am forever in your admiration.

    Zaid

    1. Zaid,
      Thank you kind sir, this was a very nice comment. I am glad you like this piece and I’m glad that I have captured the innocent voice that I was going for since I was incredibly nervous about that. I see what you mean about the symbols, I will work more on perfecting that in my future works.
      Thank you,
      Tina

  2. Dear Tina,

    I honestly think your writing gets better and better each time you post something (which seems impossible but then you find a way to outdo yourself again which is amazing)! This piece had such a stylistic voice (one that I haven’t heard you do before) which made it very interesting to read and you successfully pulled it off very well. You also put a little suspense in your piece which I really enjoyed! I especially liked your last line “It’s quiet, it’s nice. I like this type of atmosphere. I don’t think I ever want to leave, so I won’t.” It makes it end on a kind of mysterious note which I found was very smart and fitted well with your piece so it could kind of contradict the innocent voice you made for it through the character. One thing for this piece I will say is (agreeing with Zaid) that adding repetition to the piece would enhance it more stylistically. I would probably like to see the line “Breathe. In, hold; out, hold.” a few more times since I believe it’s significant to the character and how they are portrayed in your work. All in all, I loved this piece and can’t wait to see how you outdo yourself next time!!! 🙂

    Truly,
    Simran C.

    1. Sim!!
      Thank you so much for your comment. I’m glad I am able to surprise you each time, it truly means a lot. I, like I said, will definitely add more symbolism in my writing because it really does add a lot to each piece.
      Thank you,
      Tina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *